Template Shadow

Desert Vista

Home of the Thunder

  • The Counseling Department staffs seven Counselors, a Career Technician, a part-time Social Worker, and the Counseling Office Assistant.
    Services Include:
    • Academic Advising
    • Career Counseling
    • Group Counseling
    • Personal Social Counseling

     Counseling Duties
    Amie Hickel
    Amie Hickel, M.Ed.
    Department Chair
    ahickel@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70137
    Class of 2017 Gifted Counselor
    Grades 10-12 U-Z
    NCAA Athletics Liaison
    Rio Registration Team
    Freshman Thunder Day 
    Mickey Krebs
    Mickey Krebs, M.Ed.
    Grades 10-12 K-O

    mkrebs@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70135
    Rio Registration Team
    Study Skills Group Coordinator 
    RTI Liaison 
    Mark Kulik
    Mark Kulik, M.Ed.
    Freshman
    Transition Coordinator 
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70139
    Scholarship Financial Aid
    Pre-College Program Coordinator 
    Rio Registration Team
    RTI Liaison 
    Helen Hale
    Helen Hale, MSW
    Grades 10-12 P-T
    hhale@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70138
    McKinney-Vento Liaison
    Crisis Counselor
    Rio Registration Team
    EVIT Liaison
     
    Kate Dowd  
    Kate Dowd, M.Ed.
    Grades 10-12 A-De
    kdowd@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70134
    Rio Registration Team 
     Shawna Thue
     
    Shawna Thue, M.Ed.
    Freshman/Transition Counselor
    sthue@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70133
    Study Skills Freshman Groups
    Military Liaison
    Freshman Thunder Day
    Co-Coordinator
    RTI Liaison
    Karen Hinds  
    Karen Hinds, M.Ed.
    Grades 10-12 Di-J
    khinds@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70132
    504 Liaison
    SSD/504 Coordinator
    RTI Liaison
    Rio Registration Team
    Native American Liaison 
    Special Olympics Coach
    Thunder Buddies Sponsor
    Beth Lyon  
    Beth Lyon
    Counseling Department Assistant

    blyon@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70131
    College Visitation Team Member
    Child Find Program Coordinator
    Records Request Coordinator
    Counseling TA Coordinator
    Counseling Communication Coordinator
    Kari Fischer
    Kari Fischer, M.Ed.
    Classes of 2016, 2018, 2019 Gifted Counselor
    kfischer@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70136
    Scholarship/Financial Aid
    Pre-College Program Coordinator
    College Visitation Coordinator
    Department Website Maintenance
    Department Technology Liaison/Data Collection
    Rio Registration Team
    Continuous Improvement Team
    Diana Brown
    Mrs. Diana Brown
    CTE Support Specialist
    dbrown@tempeunion.org
    (480) 706-7900 Ext. 70112                               

Guidance Office Contact

Template Shadow
CLOSE